Women leading legislatures across the US

The Associated Press tracked the top leadership positions for each party in each state legislative chamber. The top spots are called by different titles in different states, but in many places, they are referred to as the House speaker, Senate president and minority leaders in each chamber.

Here's a look at the women in those positions for 2019 and 2018.

2019 new female legislative leaders

1.Alaska Senate President Cathy Giessel, Republican

2.Arizona Senate President Karen Fann, Republican

3.Arizona House Minority Leader Charlene Fernandez, Democrat

4.California House Minority Leader Marie Waldron, Republican

5.Colorado House Speaker KC Becker, Democrat

6.Florida Senate Minority Leader Audrey Gibson, Democrat

7.Maine House Minority Leader Kathleen Dillingham, Republican

8.Michigan House Minority Leader Christine Greig, Democrat

9.Missouri House Minority Leader Crystal Quade, Democrat

10.New Hampshire Senate President Donna Soucy, Democrat

11.Ohio House Minority Leader Emilia Strong Sykes, Democrat

12.Oklahoma Senate Minority Leader Kay Floyd, Democrat

13.Oklahoma House Minority Leader Emily Virgin, Democrat

14.Tennessee House Minority Leader Karen Camper, Democrat

15.Utah Senate Minority Leader Karen Mayne, Democrat

16.Vermont House Minority Leader Pattie McCoy, Republican

17.Virginia House Minority Leader Eileen Filler-Corn, Democrat


2019 female legislative leaders in new roles

1. Minnesota House Speaker Melissa Hortman, Democrat, previously minority leader

2. New York Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins, Democrat, previously minority leader


2019 female legislative leaders in same roles

1.California Senate President Pro Tem Toni Atkins, Democrat

2.California Senate Minority Leader Pat Bates, Republican

3.Connecticut House Minority Leader Themis Klarides, Republican

4.Idaho Senate Minority Leader Michelle Stennett, Democrat

5.Iowa House Speaker Linda Upmeyer, Republican

6.Iowa Senate Minority Leader Janet Petersen, Democrat

7.Kansas Senate President Susan Wagle, Republican

8.Maine House Speaker Sara Gideon, Democrat

9.Massachusetts Senate President Karen Spilka, Democrat

10.Missouri Senate Minority Leader Gina Walsh, Democrat

11.North Dakota Senate Minority Leader Joan Heckaman, Democrat

12.Oregon House Speaker Tina Kotek, Democrat

13.Vermont House Speaker Mitzi Johnson, Democrat

14.Wisconsin Senate Minority Leader Jennifer Shilling, Democrat

15.Wyoming House Minority Leader Cathy Connolly, Democrat


2018 female legislative leaders no longer in roles

1.Alaska House Minority Leader Charisse Millett, Republican, leadership position hasn't been decided yet for 2019

2.Alaska Senate Minority Leader Berta Gardner, Democrat, did not seek re-election

3.Arizona Senate Minority Leader Katie Hobbs, Democrat, won election as secretary of state

4.Arizona House Minority Leader Rebecca Rios, Democrat, won election to state Senate

5.Colorado House Speaker Christina Duran, Democrat, term-limited

6.Florida House Minority Leader Janet Cruz, Democrat, won election to state Senate.

7.Hawaii House Minority Leader Andria Tupola, Republican, ran unsuccessfully for governor

8.Missouri House Minority Leader Gail McCann Beatty, Democrat, term-limited

9.Montana House Minority Leader Jenny Eck, Democrat, did not seek re-election

10.Oregon Senate Minority Leader Jackie Winters, Republican, did not seek to continue in leadership post

11.Rhode Island House Minority Leader Patricia Morgan, Republican, lost primary election for governor and later removed by GOP caucus as leader after endorsing an independent gubernatorial candidate

12.Tennessee House Speaker Beth Harwell, Republican, lost primary election for governor

13.Washington Senate Majority Leader Sharon Nelson, Democrat, did not seek re-election

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.